What are Government-Aided Schools?

29 July 2023

Out of 180+ primary schools in Singapore, there are 46 government-aided schools. These are schools that are privately managed, and are NOT owned by the government/MOE.

But they still employ MOE teachers, follow national syllabus, and receive funding from Singapore.

Why have them?

These schools were set up by various community organisations to cater to the educational needs of their respective communities.

For example, Singapore Hokkien Huay Kuan (SHHK) setup 6 schools, from as early as 1906. Unsurprisingly, these schools work closely with the clan and are aligned with their vision and values.

As the Education Minister said:

Today, they continue to play the role of upholding the tradition and culture of the schools and the community that started them.

In return, clan/church members who are endorsed by their community have earlier eligibility with Phase 2B.

What are the government-aided schools?

There are 46 schools. Many of which are SAP schools or have affiliations, as indicated below.

  School Area SAP Affiliations
1 CHIJ St. Nicholas Girls’ Ang Mo Kio CHIJ St. Nicholas Girls’ School
2 CHIJ (Katong) Bedok - CHIJ Katong Convent
3 Red Swastika Bedok -
4 St. Anthony’s Canossian Bedok - St. Anthony’s Canossian Secondary School
5 St. Stephen’s Bedok - St. Joseph’s Institution, St. Patrick’s School
6 Ai Tong Bishan -
7 Catholic High Bishan Catholic High School
8 Kuo Chuan Presbyterian Bishan - Kuo Chuan Presbyterian Secondary School
9 St. Anthony’s Bukit Batok - St. Joseph’s Institution, St. Patrick’s School
10 CHIJ (Kellock) Bukit Merah - CHIJ St. Theresa’s Convent
11 CHIJ Our Lady Queen of Peace Bukit Panjang - CHIJ St. Theresa’s Convent
12 Methodist Girls’ Bukit Timah - Methodist Girls’ School (Secondary)
13 Nanyang Bukit Timah Nanyang Girls’ High School
14 Pei Hwa Presbyterian Bukit Timah -
15 Anglo-Chinese (Junior) Central - Anglo-Chinese School (Barker Road), Anglo-Chinese School (Independent)
16 St. Margaret’s Central - St. Margaret’s School (Secondary)
17 De La Salle Choa Chu Kang - St. Joseph’s Institution, St. Patrick’s School
18 Nan Hua Clementi -
19 Canossa Catholic Geylang - St. Anthony’s Canossian Secondary School
20 Geylang Methodist Geylang - Geylang Methodist School (Secondary)
21 Kong Hwa Geylang -
22 Maha Bodhi Geylang Manjusri Secondary School
23 CHIJ Our Lady of the Nativity Hougang - CHIJ St. Joseph’s Convent
24 Holy Innocents’ Hougang Holy Innocent’s High School
25 Montfort Junior Hougang - Montfort Secondary School
26 Paya Lebar Methodist Girls’ Hougang - Paya Lebar Methodist Girls’ School (Secondary)
27 Hong Wen Kallang -
28 Ngee Ann Marine Parade - Ngee Ann Secondary School
29 Tao Nan Marine Parade -
30 Anglo-Chinese (Primary) Novena - Anglo-Chinese School (Barker Road), Anglo-Chinese School (Independent)
31 Singapore Chinese Girls’ Novena - Singapore Chinese Girls’ School
32 St. Joseph’s Institution Junior Novena - St. Joseph’s Institution, St. Patrick’s School
33 Mee Toh Punggol - Manjusri Secondary School
34 Fairfield Methodist Queenstown - Fairfield Methodist School (Secondary)
35 Nan Chiau Sengkang - -
36 CHIJ Our Lady of Good Counsel Serangoon - CHIJ St. Joseph’s Convent
37 St. Gabriel’s Serangoon - St. Gabriel’s Secondary School
38 Poi Ching Tampines -
39 St. Hilda’s Tampines - St. Hilda’s Secondary School
40 CHIJ (Toa Payoh) Toa Payoh - CHIJ Secondary (Toa Payoh)
41 Kheng Cheng Toa Payoh - -
42 Maris Stella High Toa Payoh Maris Stella High School
43 Marymount Convent Toa Payoh - -
44 Pei Chun Public Toa Payoh -
45 St. Andrew’s Junior Toa Payoh - St. Andrew’s Secondary School
46 Chongfu Yishun - -

From this list, you should recognize they are the best primary schools in Singapore.